Tags

, , , , , ,

Friends, I’m happy to report that Spring has sprung.Image

I know, I know, it’s only January. But to me, it may as well be June. The figurative sun is shining (Well, so is the literal one, but it’s that cold, faraway sunlight that is such a teaser), and I am in love. With my story, that is. I’m so glad to report that the hardest part of this whole ‘New Year, New Writing’ thing is over. You know, that rough patch before you hit your stride, where it feels like you’re pushing a semi through a pool of wet cement? It took a lot of hours of staring blankly at the wall, writing sentences and scribbling them out, and a few melodramatic outbursts that may have included the words, ‘I’m just going to quit and find some other dream’. But I did it, and it feels so good to be writing again. I have so many ideas running through my head, and with all the outlining I’m doing, it’s SO much easier to keep them all straight. If you are a writer and you’re having trouble keeping your ideas in line, I’m begging you, begging you to outline. I outlined a little bit before, but I’m learning that for me, the longer and more in depth the outline, the better. I don’t have a great memory, and it makes it so much simpler to see all of the facts together in one place so that I can always go back to clarify if I forget something. I never, ever thought I would live to see the day that I would love those little stinkers, but I did, and I’m not afraid to say how wrong I was about them. Outlining might just be my new favorite phase of the writing process. Granted, I am still on Christmas Break from work, so the real challenge is going to be on Wednesday when I get pulled back into the real world and have to try and keep my brain in two places at once. Wish me luck! For now, I will enjoy my last days off, with the blinds open and the sunlight streaming in my window. Even if I do have to stare of into space, I’ve got blue sky to look at. Image PS: Please listen to this:

