Maybe I should’ve saved this for Monday, then I could call it Morbid Mortuary Monday. But it’s Thursday… Termination Thursday?

Anyway, I’ve been thinking lately about epitaphs (don’t even ask). I wondered, if I could choose only three words to have in my obituary after I’m gone, what three words would they be?

First I thought of words like writer, dreamer… but while those descriptors were fine, they weren’t what I wanted to be remembered for.

I want to be remembered for more than just what I am, but for the things I love. I love smiles, kindness, generosity.

I want to be remembered as someone who brought joy to everyone she met, who was generous with everything she had, whether it was time or money or love, and someone who honored God with every breath she breathed.

It is so tempting to be sucked into thinking that life is about ‘earthly’ things, the day-to-day things. But when there’s nothing remaining but the legacy I’ve left behind, I want it to be more than how I dressed or did my hair or spoke. I hope it’s about the way I treated people.

Oh boy. I’ve got some work to do. :)

What do you want to leave behind, if it’s not too morbid to ask?

