Tags

, ,

You know when you read a book and just marvel at the author’s expertise and (maybe a little bit more-so) despair at your own ability to write anything that could even scratch the surface of it? Yeah, that’s me today.

I am in the editing phase of my WIP and feeling slightly like the world is on my shoulders. It probably wasn’t a good idea to read Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman, because it kind of makes me want to put my head between my knees and give up writing because I am so not good enough to be a writer. I know it’s silly, but it scares the living daylights out of me to have people read my work. Seriously, this stuff is basically my brain put down on paper, and if someone says they don’t like it… Ugh. But the thing is, you can’t make everyone enjoy your writing. And acclaim is not the reason that I first aspired to be a writer, so why do I let it take over?

The reason that I first aspired to become a writer was because I have a story to tell. I see the beauty in life and I want to show that through writing. Whether or not people enjoy it; whether or not I am the best writer out there; whether or not anyone ever reads what I write, I love writing, and that’s why I do it.

I probably should’ve just started by reading this quote by the man himself, Neil Gaiman, “Start telling the stories that only you can tell, because there’ll always be better writers than you.” That. That is why I write.

