Tags

, , , ,

Are you like me? I’ll be in the midst of a conversation with someone, and then I hear a song on the radio and all of a sudden I’m in my own world. I can’t count the amount of times I’ve asked someone, “What does this song make you picture? Because I’m picturing a girl, walking down a dark alley, ready to make a deal that will spare the life of the one she loves”, or “I hear this and I immediately see a small town during harvest with leaves fluttering across a bustling street”. Then I’m digging around for a pad of paper so I can write it down before I forget it.  Those moments usually lead to me writing a really great scene that I never would’ve thought of otherwise, and those scenes usually become the base that a story is built on.

1. Stoic Theme by Thomas Newman

I’m obsessed with Thomas Newman. All of his songs have so much emotion, honestly, it’s impossible for me to listen without something new popping into my head.

2. Wong Chia Chi’s Theme by Alexandre Desplat

I have never seen Lust, Caution (which this song is featured in), luckily a friend told me about the song a few years ago and I only listen to it every once in awhile because I don’t want the wonder to wear off. This song… I love Alexandra Desplat’s brain for composing it. It’s so dramatic and romantic and I just want to waltz around every single time I hear it. Thank you, Alexandre, thank you.

3. Time by Hans Zimmer

I can’t even tell you how much I love this song. The ‘only listen to it every so often’ rule does not apply because I can’t stop myself from listening to it. My friend and I have a game where we sit and listen to it, trying to come up with new incidents that could happen to it.

What about you? What songs inspire you? Let me know in the comments, I’d love to hear about and be inspired by new songs.

