Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Seeing as today’s a national holiday, I decided to take a break from writing. Don’t worry, I’ll be back tomorrow, just try not to miss me too much. 😉

I’m thinking that I’ve now that whetted enough appetites, I will possibly post another snippet from MIA on Wednesday afternoon. It won’t be a full chapter, because that would be really long, but it’ll be a bit more substantial than the prologue, so get excited!

Also, since a few people were asking, I should also clear up that my last post The Tango is part of MIA, though the draft that I posted was written years ago and had nothing to do with Mia. I actually stumbled upon it in my old documents while I was writing MIA and I knew I had to use it somehow. So I changed a few important details, adding in some character development, and the scene came out of it (hopefully) without any damage. 🙂 I posted the old draft because the scene is rather late in the book and I didn’t want to ruin any of the plot.

Now, on to today’s post, especially for Carmelle, because you enjoyed the last post so much. I’ve built up another list of songs that I could listen to 1,000,000 times without getting tired of them, and I just need to share them.

1. The Secret Fan by Rachel Portman

If you haven’t seen this movie, I recommend it. It’s a really honest and heartbreaking take on friendship. It made me smile, made me laugh, made me cry. The score perfectly portrays the heartbreak that Snow Flower and Lily go through. I go back to this song every few months and play the living daylights out of it. It’s perfect for writing to.

2. Fried Green Tomatoes Score by Thomas Newman

Thomas Newman can do no wrong. This song can only be listened to on a hazy summer day, when you can imagine that you’re sitting on the veranda in Georgia, sipping on sweet tea. Like most good songs, this one makes me tear up a bit, and picture all the beautiful stories that have yet to be told.

3. Oltremare by Ludovico Einadi

I actually used this to write Maps, among many other snippets I’ve got saved from over the years. This, friends, is the song that just keeps on giving. It’s so long that I always feel like I’m listening to it the first time, and every time I listen I get an idea for a new story. This song is magical.

4. Jupiter by Gustav Holst

I wish I could compose something this great. But at least if I can’t write something like this, I can write a story while listening to it!

That’s it for today, I hope all my American readers are having a wonderful Memorial Day, and to my non-American readers, a wonderful Monday! 😀

PS: I want to mention how thankful I am to celebrate Memorial Day. In honor and memory of my grandfather, who served in WWII, my great uncle John, who survived through WWII and was killed a week after the war ended when he drove over a land mine. And to my dear dad, who is still here, but whose service is still greatly appreciated.

